You are here

United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF)

The United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF) promotes mutual understanding between the nationals of India and the U.S. through the educational exchange of outstanding scholars, professionals, and students. The Indo-U.S. agreement on educational exchange, signed by Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and U.S. Ambassador Loy Henderson on February 2, 1950 in New Delhi, established the United States Educational Foundation in India to administer the Fulbright Program in India. On July 4, 2008, the Government of India (GOI) and the U.S. Government (USG) signed a new agreement to strengthen educational exchanges between the two countries. The Foundation was renamed as United States-India Educational Foundation (USIEF) awarding Fulbright-Nehru Scholarships and Grants. USG and GOI are now equal partners for implementing the Fulbright-Nehru Program in India. A 10-member Board of Directors, five Americans living in India nominated by the U.S. Diplomatic Mission and five Indians nominated by the Government of India, governs USIEF.

The following grants are available for Indian scholars under the programme

Fulbright-Nehru Grants

  • Fulbright-Nehru Master's Fellowships
  • Fulbright-Nehru Doctoral Research Fellowships
  • Fulbright-Nehru Academic and Professional Excellence Fellowships
  • Fulbright-Nehru Postdoctoral Research Fellowships
  • Fulbright-Nehru International Education Administrators Seminar

Fulbright-Kalam Climate Fellowship

  • Fulbright-Kalam Climate Fellowship

Other Fulbright Grants

  • Hubert H. Humphrey Fellowship Program
  • Fulbright Foreign Language Teaching Assistant Program
  • Fulbright Scholar-in-Residence Program
  • Fulbright Teaching Excellence and Achievement Program
  • Fulbright Distinguished Awards in Teaching Program for International Teachers