F. No.22-10/2013/U-Policy Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education

537/C, Shastri Bhawan, New Delhi. Dated:9thSeptember, 2013.

Subject: Committee to drive up the Research Performance of Academic Institutions

As India moves in the global knowledge economy, building awareness about critical global rankings, research evaluation and targeted and competitive research funding would be central to the country's strategy to improve its research capacity and research performance. While the 12th Five Year Plan provides a broad framework, detailed strategy and framework for excellence in research at individual, department and institution level has to be created.

2. The Government has therefore decided to constitute a Committee to drive up the research performance of academic Institutions, with the following members:

1.	Prof. K. Vijay Raghavan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology	Chairman
2.	Prof. Arun Nigavekar, Former Chairman, UGC	Member
3.	Prof. R. Natarajan, Former Chairman, AICTE	Member
4.	Prof. S. Sivaram, Former Director, NCL, Pune	Member
5.	Prof. P.Balaram, Director, IISc Bangalore	Member
6.	Prof. Rajeev Sanghal, Director,IIT-BHU	Member
7.	Prof. N.Sathyamurthy, Director, IISER, Mohali	Member
8.	Prof. S.K. Sopory, Vice-Chancellor, JNU	Member
9.	Prof. G.S.N. Raju, Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam	Member
10.	Prof. R. Thandavan, Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras	Member
11.	Prof. Bijendra Nath Jain, Vice-Chancellor, BITS Pilani	Member
12.	Dr. Akhilesh Gupta, Secretary,UGC	Member
13.	Dr. Avinash S. Pant, Vice-Chairman, AICTE	Member
14.	Dr. Jagdish Arora, Director, INFLIBNET	Member
15.	Prof. A.N. Rai, Director, NAAC	Member
16.	Dr. D.K. Paliwal, Member Secretary, NBA	Member
17.	Shri. Pawan Agarwal, Adviser(Higher Education), Planning Commission	Member
18.	Shri. R.P. Sisodia, Joint Secretary(HE), MHRD	Member- Secretary

- 3. The terms of reference of the Committee will be:
 - a) Review existing arrangement for funding of research both core funding of research facilities and infrastructure and project funding in academic institutions with a view to identify gaps and ensure a more coordinated approach in research funding;
 - b) Develop strategy for selective approach in allocation of research support to academic institutions in order to ensure that resources for research are used to the best advantage;
 - c) Develop a framework for excellence in research to ensure that increased funding supports country's most talented researchers and most effective research institutions and departments and also to ensure that some of the country's institutions reach the global benchmarks in research performance;
 - d) Create a framework for evaluation of research and rankings with a view to develop healthy competition amongst institutions, departments, centres and individual researchers.

4. The Committee shall be provided secretarial and other assistance for holding meetings by the University Grants Commission (UGC). This will include expenditure on travel and accommodation of the Committee as per Government of India norms. The TA/DA of the Government representatives will be borne by their respective Ministry/Departments.

5. The Committee will submit its report/recommendations within a period of three months from the date of its first meeting: Λ

(Harpreet Singh) Director(U Policy) Tele-011-23387934

,1

То

1. Prof. K. Vijay Raghavan, Secretary, Department of Biotechnology

2. Prof. Arun Nigavekar, former Chairman, UGC

3.Prof. R. Natarajan, former Chairman, AICTE

4.Prof. S. Sivaram, former Director, NCL, Pune

- 5.Prof. P.Balaram, Director, IISc Bangalore
- 6.Prof. Rajeev Sanghal, Director, IIT-BHU
- 7.Prof. N.Sathyamurthy, Director, IISER, Mohali
- 8.Prof. S.K. Sopory, Vice-Chancellor, JNU
- 9.Prof. G.S.N. Raju, Vice-Chancellor, Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

10.Prof. R. Thandavan, Vice-Chancellor, University of Madras

- 11. Prof. Bijendra Nath Jain, Vice-Chancellor, BITS Pilani
- 12.Dr. Akhilesh Gupta, Secretary,UGC

13. Dr. Avinash S. Pant, Vice-Chairman, AICTE

14.Dr. Jagdish Arora, Director, INFLIBNET

15.Prof. A.N. Rai, Director, NAAC

16.Dr. D.K. Paliwał, Member Secretary, NBA 17.Shri. Pawan Agarwal, Adviser(Higher Education), Planning Commission 18.Shri. R.P. Sisodia, Joint Secretary(HE), MHRD

Copy to:

1. PS to HRM

2. Sr. PPS to Secretary (HE)

3. Webmaster (for uploading the same on the Ministry's website for general information)

(Harpreet Singh) Director(U Policy) Tele-011-23387934

.1