PRESS INFORMATION BUREAU GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ***

Steps taken to encourage Yoga Education course

New Delhi, 30th March, 2022

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has informed that for the promotion of Yoga Education, Yoga Departments have been established in eleven Central Universities viz. Hemvati Nandan Bahuguna Garhwal University, Visva-Bharati, Central University of Rajasthan, Central University of Kerala, Indira Gandhi National Tribal University, Manipur University, Dr. Hari Singh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Central University of Himachal Pradesh, Central University of Haryana, Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri National Sanskrit University and National Sanskrit University. The UGC has also introduced Yoga as a new National Eligibility Test (NET) subject from January, 2017 onwards. Further, as per the information available on All India Survey on Higher Education (AISHE) Portal: 2019-20, 306 Universities and 182 Colleges are offering Programme in the discipline of Yoga.

The UGC has informed that it has not released any special funds to the Universities in the North-Eastern Region for offering Yoga course.

The UGC has informed that proposal for opening of new Yoga Department was received from Tripura University in February, 2019. While considering the proposal of Tripura University, an Expert Committee, constituted by UGC for this purpose, recommended submission of the revised proposal and the revised proposal has not been submitted by the University. Further, UGC has sanctioned Yoga Department along-with 4 teaching positions and 5 Adjunct faculty in Manipur University.

The information was given by the Minister of State for Education, Dr. Subhas Sarkar in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha today.

MJPS/AK