## No. 18-56/2011-U-Policy Government of India Ministry of Human Resource Development Department of Higher Education

New Delhi, dated the 29th March, 2012

## Office Memorandum

In keeping with the mandate of providing for maintenance of standards of education, the Ministry of Human Resource Development has caused regulatory bodies to have oversight of different fields of higher education in the country. Newer disciplines and fields of education emerge which must necessarily conform to minimum standards of academic and research performance so that while aspirations of society in general and students and teachers attached to such institutions in particular are met, they also enable maintenance strengthening of standards of education as a whole.

- 2. In this context, it has come to the notice of the Government that institutions in the field of TV, print media, journalism, films, etc. offer courses of different durations, different quality and often charge exorbitant fee from students without ensuring trained staff, fully equipped facilities and without a formally recognized institutional framework.
- 3. In this context and considering the criticality of the need to address issues of access and equity while ensuring quality in such media institutions, it has been decided to constitute an Inter-Ministerial Task Force with representatives from the concerned Ministries and regulators as also persons of repute and eminence from the fields of Cinema, TV, print media, theatre and performing arts, to make recommendations on above and related matters.
- 4. Accordingly, Government constitute an Inter-Ministerial Task Force on Education in Media related courses, with the following Members:-

i.	Dr. Sanjay Baru	Editor-in-Chief, Business Standard Ltd., New Delhi
ii.	Prof. Biswajit Das	Director, Centre for Culture Media and Governance, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi
iii.	Dr. Rajbir Singh	Director, Institute of Mass Communication & Media Technology, Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra
iv.	Dr. K.P. Singh	Joint Secretary, University Grants Commission, New Delhi
V.	Dr. Anjali Monterio	Professor & Head, Centre for Media and Cultural Studies, TISS
vi.	Shri Sayed Mirza	Chairman, Film and Television Institute of India
vii.	Ms. Sonia Singh	Managing Editor, NDTV 24x7
viii.	Shri Shekhar Gupta	Editor-in-Chief, Indian Express
ix.	Shri Siddharth Varadharajan,	Editor, Hindu
x.	Shri Alok Mehta,	Editor, Nai Duniya
xi.	Shri Khurshid Ahmed Ganai,	Joint Secretary ( P&A), M/o I & B - Ex-Officio Member (representing Ministry of Information & Broadcasting)
xii.	Shri Sunit Tandon	Director General, IIMS, M/o I&B - Ex-Officio Member (representing Ministry of Information & Broadcasting)
xiii.	Nominations of the Ministry of Culture representing eminent persons from the theatre and performing arts	Members/Ex-officio Members
xiv.	Shri R.P. Sisodia	Joint Secretary (HE), MHRD - Ex-officio Member- Secretary

- 5. The terms of reference of the Inter-Ministerial Task Force shall be:-
  - (a) To examine and identify issues related to standards of education in Institutions offering courses in media related disciplines,
  - (b) To examine the regulations and institutions governing such courses and suggest suitable measures to strengthen the same,
  - (c) To look at the courses, duration and syllabi of these courses and suggest adequacy and functionality of the same and bring in uniformity,
  - (d) In the context of national direction towards accreditation and third party certification, explore possibility of accreditation mechanism.
  - (e) Any other issue arising out of or relating to the above terms of reference which the Government or the Inter-Ministerial Task Force on its own, may desire to look into.
- 6. The Inter-Ministerial Task Force shall be provided secretarial and other assistance for holding meetings by the University Grants Commission. This will include expenditure on travel and accommodation of the Inter-Ministerial Task Force on its visits to different parts of the country for interaction with institutions and academics. The TA/DA will be paid by the University Grants Commission as per UGC norms. The TA/DA of the ex-officio members will be borne by their respective Ministry/Department.
- 7. The Inter-Ministerial Task Force may devise its own methodology and processes for its functioning. The selection of a Chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Task Force may be decided by the Members, from amongst themselves, in the first meeting, the date and time of which will be intimated in due course.
- 8. The Inter-Ministerial Task Force may submit its report/recommendations within a period of one year from the date of its first meeting.

Joint Secretary to the Government of India

## To:-

- Members of the Inter-Ministerial Task Force
- 2. Chairman, University Grants Commission, New Delhi.
- Secretary, University Grants Commission, New Delhi.

## Copy to:-

- 1. Chairman, All India Council for Technical Education, New Delhi
- 2. Member-Secretary, All India Council for Technical Education, New Delhi
- Chairman, Distance Education Council, New Delhi.
- 4. Vice Chancellor, Indira Gandhi National Open University, New Delhi,
- 5. Principal Secretary to the PM, PMO, South Block, New Delhi
- 6. Communications Adviser to PM, PMO, South Block, New Delhi.
- 7. PMO (Shri Krishan Kumar, Director) South Block, New Delhi.
- 8. PS to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission, New Delhi
- 9. Secretary, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, New Delhi
- 10. Secretary, Ministry of Culture, New Delhi.

- 3-

- 11. Chairman, Press Council of India, New Delhi
  - 12. PS to HRM/PS to MOS(HRD)/PS to MOS(HRD-EA)
  - 13. PS to Minister of Information & Broadcasting/PS to Minister of Culture
  - 14. PSO to Secretary (HE)/PPS to Secretary (SE&L)/PS to SS
  - 15. PS to AS(SE)/AS(TEL)
  - 16. All Joint Secretaries in Department of Higher Education/JS&FA/EA(HE)/DDG
  - 17. DS(UGC)/Dir (ICR)/Dir (U-5)/Ms. Mamta Varma, PIO, PIB.
  - 18. U.I A Section/U.I Section/IF Division/CDN Section/AR Section/Parliament Unit/SO(IFC)/SO(RTI)
  - 19. Webmaster, CMIS (for uploading in the Ministry's website for general information).

(Harpreet Singh) Director