You are here

MoE Funded Technical Institutions

The technical education system in the country can be broadly classified into three categories – Central Government funded institutions, State Government/State-funded institutions & Self-financed institutions. The Centrally funded institution of technical and science education are as under:

Indian Institute of Technology (IITs) 23
Indian Institute of Management (IIMs) 21
Indian Institute of Science (IISc) 1
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISERs) 7
National Institute of Technology (NITs) 31
Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIITs)
MoE funded – 5
PPP mode – 20
National Institute of Technical Teacher's Training & Research (NITTTRs) 4
School of Planning and Architecture (SPA) 3
North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology (NERIST) 1
Sant Longowal Institute of Engineering and Technology (SLIET) 1
National Institute of Industrial Engineering (NITIE) 1
National Institute of Advance Manufacturing Technology (NIAMT) 1
Ghani Khan Choudhury Institute of Engineering & Technology (GKCIET) 1
Central Institute of Technology, Kokrajhar 1
Total 121

Besides the above, there are four Boards of Apprenticeship Training (BOATs).